How to put a program and php files on a server?

I’m not new to programming, but I am new to doing things in the “cloud” and am feeling completely lost here.

In order to continue to do research during the Covid I am going to have to migrate my methods with humans to the internet. I have successfully used the game development/programming environment “Unity” to create a WebGL program (a simple video game) that will run in a browser to deliver my experimental protocols and retrieve data.

What I need now (or at least it is what I think I need) is a way to host that game on a server so that it can a: send a request to the server and retrieve a text file, and then b: send data to the server and have it save that data to a text file.

I have studied the general procedures via several different sites & videos and believe I have my Game and PhP files setup so that I can achieve a: and b:. What I have no clue about is how to get all that working on a server.

I assume that this is something that I can accomplish with Cloudways. I assume I would setup a server and upload the game and php files to the server, then obtain web addresses for those so that I would have a link to the game and links to the php files that I would put within the game for it to do the retrieval and data-saving it needs to do. This is what i would assume to be pretty basic stuff. Although the start page states, “Let’s launch the first one, it’s super simple :)” I am lost the moment I press launch and am confronted with choosing the application server & details.