CPU Idle 0% taking site down

Looking at the server monitor on my wordpress site, the CPU Idle keeps bouncing up and down and when it reaches 0% it takes the site down.

I’m not that tech savvy - I’ve disabled xmlrpc.php as suggested by support on live chat. They also suggested wordfence might be taking it’s toll (a bit of research convinced me the ‘syncattackdata’ references are ok). But their next suggestions are to use their paid securi plugin (I’d rather not to keep costs down) and maybe use a CDN as that’ll help with brute force and ddos attacks.

While I’m sure they may well help, I’m not convinced they’re the real reason the CPU’s being overwhelmed as this has been going on for months now. But then again, hey, what do I know… except I’d like to make sure my server and wordpress plugins are all configured right before I go throwing money at the problem.

I’m running about 20 plugins - nothing too heavy i’m aware of - and i’ve tried disabling them to no avail. I’m also running wordfence and defender as security.

Anyone any thoughts?!

Here’s my latest monitor grab: cpu%20idle|690x374